Deutsches Kupferinstitut DKI, A Copper Alliance Member
Deutsches Kupferinstitut DKI, A Copper Alliance Member
Expression of thanks


Hanns-Joachim Fischer
(1925-2005)
 
For more than three decades Dipl. Eng. Hanns Joachim Fischer worked on standard specifications. Quite often he expressed the desire for a worldwide collection of all standard specifications. The heartfelt groan "If I only had !" brought to him the idea of putting all his professional experiences together into a compilation of all standard specifications of non-ferrous metal products and so the Copper-Key was born.

You could say that metal had been in his blood from the very beginning. Hanns was born on the 15th of March 1925, as the third and last son of Dr. Eng. Franz-P. Fischer, who had himself played an important role in producing standard specifications for ferrous products, working as the Head of the Inspection and Development section of the Krupp Company.

After passing his School Certificate (Abitur) in March 1943 Hanns had first to carry out Community Service, and then joined the German Navy. In April 1946 he returned from American and French captivity to his place of birth, the city of Essen. A period of nine months practical training at the Krupp Company in 1946/47 and one year of studies in mechanical engineering obviously did not satisfy him, and he left to study philosophy and theology. In the summer of 1952, he returned to studying metallurgy at Aachen university (as an "Eisenhüttenmann") and received his Diploma in 1956.

His first professional experience was gained with the Bochumer Verein Company. In March 1959 he began working at the DIN - Deutsches Institut für Normung e. V. Since then Hanns continued to be involved with standard specifications at both national and international levels, especially European standards, for more than three decades until his retirement. Since the middle of the sixties he had been secretary or convenor of a large number of committees for standard specifications. During this time he gained wide knowledge and extensive experience e. g. as convenor of the committee for standard specifications of non-ferrous metals (FNNE) and as secretary of the ISO-committee 26 copper & copper alloys; he fulfilled these responsibilities from 1964 until 1990. He was convenor of the Committee for Powder Metallurgy, established in 1967, and, since 1974, convenor of the Foundry Committee. He was involved in setting up and organising of a large number of other committees which played an important role in standard specifications, setting high standards for European (CEN) as well as International Standards (ISO).

His high professional and personal reputation found expression in the honour of being awarded the "Award of Appreciation" of the ASTM in Philadelphia in 1985, followed by the "Prain Medal" of the Institute of Metals, London in 1990.

Hanns married his wife Paula in 1957. She was a constant support to him in his life and work. After his retirement in March 1990 Hanns started working on the Copper-Key-project. The idea of the bound book, he originally visualised, changed into the idea of producing a computerised database. This necessarily meant gaining new knowledge and technology. He profited from the fact that he had four children and four grandchildren, who were sufficiently interested and patient to pilot him through the new medium. Over a period of almost 15 years, he was able to complete the first edition of his Copper-Key, and to finish the framework of the second edition.

Sadly, only two days after the sudden death of Paula in October 2004, he himself became seriously ill, and died in June 2005.
 
to copperkey

Deutsches Kupferinstitut DKI, A Copper Alliance Member
Danksagung


Hanns-Joachim Fischer
(1925-2005)
 
Im Laufe seiner jahrzehntelangen Beschäftigung mit der Normung von Metallprodukten wird sich Dipl. Ing. Hanns Joachim Fischer ungezählte Male eine vollständige Sammlung aller weltweit benutzten Normen herbeigewünscht haben. Aus dem Stoßseufzer "Ach, gäbe es doch !" entwickelte er schließlich die Idee, die Fülle seiner beruflichen Erfahrungen im Bereich der Nichteisenmetalle selbst in eine solche Sammlung einfließen zu lassen eben den Kupferschlüssel.

Wenn man so will, hat ihm "das Metall im Blut gelegen". Als dritter und jüngster Sohn des Dr. Ing. Franz-P. Fischer am 15.03.1925 geboren, war er gewissermaßen "familiär belastet". Schon der Vater hat - bei der Firma Krupp als Leiter der Abnahme- und Probieranstalt tätig - bei der Normung von Stahl wegweisend gearbeitet.

Nach dem Abitur im März 1943 musste Hanns Joachim Fischer zunächst zum Arbeitsdienst und zur Wehrmacht. Im April 1946 kehrte er dann aus amerikanischer und französischer Kriegsgefangenschaft zurück in seine Geburtsstadt Essen. Neun Monate Praktikum bei der Firma Krupp in 1946/47 und zwei Semester Maschinenbaustudium an der TH Karlsruhe waren anscheinend zunächst nicht überzeugend - Herr Fischer studierte erst einmal Philosophie und Theologie. Im Sommersemester 1952 kehrte er dann aber doch zur Metallurgie zurück, setzte an der TH Aachen das Studium als Eisenhüttenmann fort und erwarb 1956 das Diplom.

Die ersten beruflichen Schritte machte er beim Bochumer Verein, wo er bis Januar 1959 die thermische Abteilung leitete. Seit März 1959 war Herr Fischer dann als Gruppenreferent beim DIN - Deutsches Institut für Normung e.V. beschäftigt. Der Arbeit an und mit den nationalen und internationalen, vor allem aber den europäischen Normen blieb er über drei Jahrzehnte bis zum Ende seiner aktiven beruflichen Tätigkeit verbunden. Seit Mitte der 60er Jahre hat er in einer Vielzahl von Normenausschüssen und Normungsgremien als Sekretär oder als Geschäftsführer gewirkt. Umfangreiche Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen sammelte er z. B. als Geschäftsführer des Normenausschusses Nichteisenmetalle (FNNE) und als Sekretär des ISO-Komitees 26 Kupfer und Kupferlegierungen, welche Aufgaben er von 1964 - 1990 wahrnahm. Er war Geschäftsführer des 1967 neu gegründeten Normenausschusses Pulvermetallurgie, ab 1974 Geschäftsführer des Normenausschusses Gießereiwesen (GINA). Er hat eine Vielzahl von Ausschüssen mitbegründet und geleitet, die sowohl im europäischen (CEN) als auch im internationalen Rahmen (ISO) mitbestimmend waren und Maßstäbe gesetzt haben. Sein fachliches und persönliches Ansehen fand auch in den internationalen Ehrungen Ausdruck, die ihm zuteil wurden ("Award of Appreciation" des Kupferkomitees der ASTM, Philadelphia, 1985; "Prain Medal" des Institute of Metals, London, 1990).

Hanns Joachim Fischer war seit 1957 mit Paula Fischer verheiratet. Ihre Verlässlichkeit über fast 50 Jahre hindurch war ihm auch in seinem Beruf Halt und Stütze. Mit dem Eintritt in den Ruhestand im März 1990 begann die Arbeit am "Projekt Kupferschlüssel". Die ursprüngliche Vorstellung eines gebundenen Buches wich nach und nach der Idee einer PC-gestützten Datenbank, was den Erwerb neuer Techniken und Kenntnisse notwendig machte. Nun konnte Hanns Joachim Fischer auch davon profitieren, dass er als vierfacher Vater auch vierfacher Großvater war und unter seinen Enkeln genug Interesse und Geduld an und für die Begleitung durch das neue Medium fand. In knapp 15 Jahren intensiver Arbeit konnte er die erste Auflage seines Kupferschlüssels fertig stellen und wesentliche Teile der zweiten Auflage bearbeiten.

Nur zwei Tage nach dem plötzlichen Tod seiner Frau im Oktober 2004 erkrankte er selbst schwer und verstarb im Juni 2005.
 
Zum Kupferschlüssel